Acorn Awards 2016: nominations are open for this prestigious hospitality award

Nominations are now open for the 30th Year of the 30 under 30 awards.

Starter question for 10 – name the connection between Marcus Wareing, Nick Nairn, Caroline Fry, Jason Atherton? Yes, they are all celebrity chefs, but did you know that they have all won the prestigious Acorn Award? They are among only 870 people who have received the award over the past 30 years.

Acorn Awards 2016

Image Credit

Industry champions The Caterer and ACT Clean have been running the Acorn awards since 1986, and the list of previous winners reads like a who’s who of the hospitality industry.

Who can be nominated?

The competition, which closes its nominations on Friday 26 February 2016, aims to find young rising stars in the industry who are showing a real flair and ‘making an impression in their field’. All hospitality areas have had previous winners, including front-of-house trainers, sports stadia catering staff, hospital caters and high-end restaurant chefs. Nominations can be made by anyone in the industry; from a draught soft drink supplier to sous chefs. They are made online via the Acorn Awards website.

Those nominated will be assessed by relevant industry experts in each sector.

Successful nominees attend the Award weekend challenge, which this year will be held at Chewton Glen Hotel and Spa in the New Forest on 12th June. Following a number of testing team activities on the Sunday, winners will be announced at Monday’s presentation ceremony.

Other National Awards

Of course whilst the Acorn Awards are primarily for hospitality providers, it’s not just the chefs that get recognition with industry awards. Companies such as Empire UK and other suppliers qualify for their own nominations in competitions such as the ‘Chefs Choice’ award and the ‘Footprints Award’. This award has two categories that specifically recognise suppliers’ environmental credentials. The Sustainable Supplier Award requires entrants to be British suppliers who have benefited the environment and can prove the sustainability of their supply sources. The Sustainable Catering Equipment Manufacturer Award is based around the design or development of energy-efficient equipment.

Of course, Awards don’t improve a company, chef or restaurant, but in today’s competitive environment, anything that helps a company to stand out from the others, and potentially offers a marketing opportunity must surely be a good thing.

Previous post Are you sending the right social signals?
technology company Next post What mistakes to create a technology company?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.