What are the six zones of kitchen design?

Having an easy-to-navigate kitchen space is achievable by implementing the zone theory, whereby allocated tasks are placed in specific zones.
A recent study has found that the average Brit spends a huge 2,175 days of their lifetime in the kitchen. This includes time spent cooking, cleaning, and doing laundry.

Image credit

Kitchen zones:

Zone 1 is where consumables, such as food and refrigerated items, should be stored. Keeping these together allows for ease of cooking and unloading shopping.

Zone 2 is for non-consumables, including items such as plates, bowls, and cutlery. These may be stored in a way that complements your lifestyle, such as next to the hob where cooking takes place.

Zone 3 is for items related to cleaning, such as the sink and dishwasher. These should be grouped together.

Zone 4 is the zone in which food is prepared, usually a long stretch of counter space or an island.

Zone 5 is the cooking zone. Usually spread out, it can include items such as a hob, oven, and microwave. Those who enjoy the social element of cooking may have these items outwardly facing.

Zone 6 is the leisure zone. Increasingly popular with aspirations of open-plan living, the leisure space is the zone for eating, drinking, and socialising.

Image credit

Kitchen refurbishment

Dividing your kitchen into cleverly allocated zones does not necessarily mean a complete overhaul. It could mean the refurbishment of your existing kitchen and units, saving on cost and disruption. For kitchen refurbishment Guildford, specialists such as The Kitchen Refurbishment Company can help.

Kitchen refurbishments can vary from a quick and simple makeover to a complete overhaul. With the right team of experts, you can discuss your plans, preferences, and budget.

Previous post Six Conveyancing Documents Explained
Next post An Introduction to No Sale No Fee Conveyancing